Day 18

Today, I spent some time testing out another renderer. By default, Maya renders with “Maya Software”, which has far fewer capabilities than “Mental Ray”, which is another renderer. One of the benefits of Mental Ray is that objects can be made into light sources, which is the only way I’ve gotten my lights to be lights, as opposed to the ceiling emitting a glow from where lights would be. Mental Ray also makes the picture look much prettier. Not that Maya’s renderings don’t look nice, but Mental Ray’s are a lot nicer. But with prettier pictures comes longer render time. To test them, I rendered out ten frames in each and timed them. Mental Ray took 5 minutes and 22 seconds, while Maya took 23 seconds. If I was to render every frame of the animation, that would come out to 1 hour and 40 minutes. Maya takes 7 minutes so as heartbreaking as it was, I had to stay with it. After my tests, I got the dynamic validation all rendered out and sent to Matt to grayscale who sent it to Killian and Elizabeth to make work. We made a video of it for our presentation, and its pretty exciting to see the model work.

Leave a Reply

